Friday, March 26, 2010

The Seven Sorrows of the Virgin

In the traditional calendar, today is Friday of Passion Week. It is one of the two days of the year on which the Church commemorates the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary. The other day is September 15.

During Passion Week, the focus is on Mary's compassion for her Divine Son, while the September commemoration focuses on our compassion for Mary's suffering as exemplified in the Devotion of the Seven Sorrows.
The Seven Sorrows
St. Simeon's prophecy that a sword would pierce Mary's soul (Lk. 2:34)

The flight from Herod into Egypt (Matt.2:13)

The loss of Jesus in the temple (Lk. 2:43)

The meeting of Mary with Jesus on the way to Calvary (Lk. 23:26)

The Crucifixion (Jn. 19:25)

Jesus' descent from the Cross (Matt. 27:57)

The burial of Jesus (Jn. 19:40)
Durer's, "The Seven Sorrows of the Virgin" (oil on panel), from the Web Gallery of Art. In the public domain. (Note that Durer portrays the last three sorrows somewhat differently. The last three appear to be: Jesus is nailed to the Cross; Jesus' Crucifixion; Jesus' descent and burial.)

No comments:


Related Posts with Thumbnails